The Department of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering in the Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt, started as a component section of the school of Agriculture, Fishery and Forestry (SAFF) in the then College of Science and Technology in 1971 under the headship of Dr. B . A. Ozogu. It was one of the government responses to a perceived need for technology development oriented university curricular, as recommended by the Ashy Commission Report on Higher Education in Nigeria. The report was operationalised by the Ministry of Education and formalized by Edict No 10 of the Rivers State Government in 1989.

The then college of Science and Technology produced four batches of Higher National Diploma (HND) graduates through the Agricultural Engineering section before 1980.

On the 6th of August 1980, the college attained the status of a university by law and all the assets and liabilities of the college transferred to the University. Thus the section became part of the Department of Agricultural Engineering and Fisheries Technology in the Faculty of Agriculture.

In 1990, the Department of Agricultural Engineering was demerged from Fisheries Technology and transferred to the Faculty of Engineering from where it now operates.

In 2003, the university Senate approved the addition of Environmental Engineering option, following a recommendation from COREN Accreditation team in 2002. In 2004, the Department received full accreditation from COREN and NUC.

The Department of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering of the Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt, runs a programme which leads to (B. Tech) degree within a period of five (5) academic sessions, two long vacations, and one semester (12 months period) of compulsory practical training in industries to emphasize the practical orientation of the degree (B. Tech).

The Department graduated its first batch of two B. Tech candidates in 1984/85 session and has since graduated a total of about 409 B. Tech candidates by 2010/2011 session. The Department also runs programmes that lead to the degree of M. Tech and Ph.D. in the various aspects of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering. So far, three Ph.D, nine M. Tech and two PGD candidates have graduated from the Department. The Department has a total of sixteen (16) lecturers, in addition to seven (7) technical and two (2) office staff.